Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: Parts 1 & 2

29056083Goodreads Synopsis

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

I was really excited to get this book – like really excited. I mean what Harry Potter fan wouldn’t be excited to read a new Harry Potter story for the first time in NINE YEARS. You may be thinking, “But Shelby didn’t you just read The Hogwarts Library?” Why yes I did. But here’s the thing. Those three short books didn’t have anything to do with Harry Potter, those were just the text he read while attending Hogwarts. Cursed Child was my chance to read a Harry Potter book for the first time in nine years.

I wanted to love the book so bad. I truly did, but there were parts (I am praying Queen Rowling did not write) that I simply could not wrap my head around. At the end of the review I will post my spoiling rants about these parts, and you can rant along with me. Until then, let’s focus on the good things.

Believe it or not, I actually enjoyed reading the screenplay format. I love stories with a lot of dialogue and characters who like to talk a lot. This was a quick easy read. I think it was easier to read than other plays simply because as a Potterhead, I have already been transported into the Wizarding World, and I had no problem imagining the settings and storyline. Granted, I would love to see the play in person, but that is definitely not in the books for me any time soon #BrokeCollegeStudent

The “good” parts, I cried at. We see all these tumblr posts about what if this and what if that, that it was truly magical to see that some of our deepest wishes had come true in this play. Our memories of the Golden Trio were livened by these good parts, and I loved seeing how they turned out as parents. I also loved seeing the connections between the children and how friendships did or didn’t form.

And while I didn’t like specific events in the books, I loved the “new” characters. I want a whole series dedicated to the next generation of Potters, Weasleys, and Malfoys. But we all know I want a Marauders series as well. A girl can dream.

PLEASE STOP READING IF YOU DON’T WANT RANTING SPOILERS

Enjoy some funny gifs before continuing to the rant

tumblr_o9oehoexry1s8c9jeo1_400

tumblr_oar9wcmqRA1s8c9jeo1_400.gif

tumblr_oao5v8mFAR1s8c9jeo1_400.gif

tumblr_obgcjnd99Y1qksk74o1_400.gif

tumblr_odvswzrtce1s30ko5o1_400.gif

Now onto my rant.

  1. Trolley Witch: Um, you cannot turn the beloved trolley witch into a psycho, mystical being with weapons as hands and her sole purpose is to ensure students remain on the train at all times… Deep in my heart I know that Queen Rowling did not write this tidbit.
  2. Adult Harry: We had SEVEN BOOKS show us that he respected Professor McGonagall 110%, but this book throws that out the window when he acts like a frickin’ jerk to her. Shame on you adult Harry – McGonagall is queen. Also, I found it ridiculous that Harry literally told his own child that he wished he wasn’t his dad. Excuse my French, but WHAT THE ACTUAL F*@K. He spent how much of the original series wishing to know his parents and he’s just going to flat out say he wishes he wasn’t Albus’s dad. Screw you Harry. You’re parents would be ashamed of this behavior.
  3. Voldemort & Bellatrix’s Secret Love Affair Resulting in Secret Love Child: This came completely out of left field and is another WTF moment. What is this fanfiction??? How can you even okay that sort of storyline, Queen Rowling? Why??? Also, I did not need that image to EVER be made. No thank you. Never again.
  4. Luna/Neville: Excuse me, but wee spend an entire series growing attached to these characters. Where are they and why aren’t they merely mentioned? It’s okay to mention, but not be present, but to entirely ignore that the heart of Dumbledore’s Army isn’t mentioned is purely wrong.
  5. Hermione and Ron Never Getting Together, and Hermione Becoming an Evil Shrew/DADA teacher: Hermione’s worth is not determined by a boy, thank you very much. I have a really hard time believing that Hermione would become evil after not ending up with Ron. Even if they didn’t end up together, I imagined they would always be friends seeing as they went through some pretty tough stuff together. I also find it highly unlikely that Hermione would never become Minister of Magic simply because she didn’t end up with Ron. There is no way feminist Queen Rowling wrote this part.
  6. After the book came out, everyone shipping Albus and Scorpious: Why can’t people just be friends? Why does everyone have to automatically assume that they secretly had the hots for each other and should be boyfriend and boyfriend? I’m not saying that there is anything against this, but why do we have to make every book about someone’s sexual orientation?

Rant Over

Ahhh, that was relaxing to finally vent to people who know what I’m talking about. This post comes just in time for the soon-to-be-released screenplay of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I look forward to seeing the movie at 10:05 p.m. on Friday November 18th (already purchased my tickets and the only time that would work with my busy schedule!) I look forward to sharing that wonderful review with you in the very near future.

The next review coming your way is Four: A Divergent Story Collection by Veronica Roth. Until next time bookworms.

 

Leave a Reply

