Attachments

Attachments.jpg

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . ” From the award-winning author of Eleanor & Park, Fangirl, andLandline comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel about love in the workplace.

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

I was skeptical to pick up another Rainbow Rowell book after reading the over-hyped Eleanor & Park (See that review here). However, I am glad I picked up Attachments, because it was quite enjoyable and I definitely enjoyed it more than Eleanor & Park. 

The main reason I liked this book is because of Beth and Jennifer’s email exchanges. This was how readers interacted with Beth and Jennifer through the entire book. But their emails weren’t the exact reason. The exact reason is that Beth and Jennifer are the epitome of me and my best friend. Beth is scarily just like my bestie, Kendall, and I am exactly like Jennifer. I think what makes it more relatable is that besides us being like the characters, their exchanges through email sound exactly like Kendall and I in our texts, Facebook messages, and in person conversations. Beth and Jennifer made me feel like I was back in my sorority house, chatting it up with Kendall while stuffing our faces with Baskin Robbins ice cream.

Lincoln, the other main character, took a couple of chapters to warm up to. At first I thought it was weird that someone took a job as an “internet security officer” to check all flagged emails, and then I realized the book was set in 1999 and they didn’t have the security software like they do now. However, I did think it was a teeny creepy that he fell in love with Beth by simply her email exchanges with Jennifer, but at the same time we’re bibliophiles who fall in love with fictional characters, so I give Lincoln a break on that one. I also enjoyed how Lincoln changed from the beginning to end. He went from a living-at-home-with-mom, hermit-like person who just kept going to school out of boredom (and heartbreak from his first love) to a person who moved out on his own and made actual friends at work. He grows up right in front of our eyes, and it is wonderful to see a character make that dynamic change.

I do like how Rowell broke up the chapters – Lincoln’s POV then email exchange between Beth and Jennifer the Lincoln’s POV, etc. It was a nice break from reading “normal” chapters. Although the book started off slow, the pace increased and it was easier to indulge in the book. However, the love story part happens much later in the book as opposed to throughout the entire novel like I had originally thought.

Even with the minor things in the book that I didn’t like, I still LOVED the book altogether. It was well-written and gave me that warm-fuzzy feeling I am always searching for with books. I also really want to read Landline, Carry On, and Fangirl to see how they compare to Attachments and Eleanor & Park.  If you haven’t checked it out already, check it out and let me know what you think in the comments! As for my next post, I will be talking about a book I picked up on a whim – Alice in Tumblr-land by Tim Manley. Happy reading lovelies!

Leave a Reply

