3 Truths About Alice in Tumblr-land

17465444

Disney meets Lena Dunham in this illustrated humor book featuring your favorite fairy-tale characters dating and finding their way in 21st-century America


The Ugly Duckling still feels gross compared to everyone else, but now she’s got Instagram, and there’s this one filter that makes her look awesome. Cinderella swaps her glass slippers for Crocs. The Tortoise and the Hare Facebook stalk each other. Goldilocks goes gluten free. And Peter Pan finally has to grow up and get a job, or at least start paying rent.

Here are more than one hundred fairy tales, illustrated and re-imagined for today. Instead of fairy godmothers, there’s Siri. And rather than big bad wolves, there are creepy dudes on OkCupid. In our brave new world of social networking, YouTube, and texting, fairy tales can once again lead us to “happily ever after” — and have us laughing all the way

Truth #1: I picked this book up on a whim.

Truth #2: I was really excited to add this to my TBR because I love fairy tales and I love mixing things like that with the new era of technology and slang – ergo Alice in Tumblr-land.

Truth #3: I was disappointed by the book.

It’s not that it was bad, but it wasn’t the funniest book I’ve ever read. It really wasn’t mildly funny. It’s like when your best friend texts you something “funny” and you reply “LOL” but you are not really laughing out loud in real life.This book was a quirky take on fairy tales placed in present times. We always hoped for a book like this but it was really short (I read it in like 20 minutes tops) and the illustrations were okay.

Upon reading this, I discovered that this is part of the Blog to Book epidemic that is starting to take over literature. While nice in theory for these budding authors, I just don’t see how this format will become successful in print. I would have preferred to see this on the blog after it pops up on my Pinterest feed, than spend money on the book. Oh well.

Look for my next post on Lisa McMann’s Dream Catcher TrilogyUntil next time, happy reading lovelies!

One thought on “3 Truths About Alice in Tumblr-land

Leave a Reply

