And Then There Were None

9646992Goodreads Synopsis:

“Ten . . .”
Ten strangers are lured to an isolated island mansion off the Devon coast by a mysterious “U. N. Owen.”

“Nine . . .”
At dinner a recorded message accuses each of them in turn of having a guilty secret, and by the end of the night one of the guests is dead.

“Eight . . .”
Stranded by a violent storm, and haunted by a nursery rhyme counting down one by one . . . as one by one . . . they begin to die.

“Seven . . .”
Which among them is the killer and will any of them survive?

For starters, I love Agatha Christie! The first time I read this book, I was in my eighth grade Honors English class  {8 years ago – Yikes, I’m old}. I finished it in five or so hours, and my teacher was pissed when I returned to class the next day with the book completely finished. It was one of the first books I couldn’t put down that wasn’t Harry Potter, Princess Diaries, or Twilight Saga related. After we finished our project with this book we were put into groups to pick and read one other book from the Queen of Mystery. Now that I am older – and slightly wiser – I want to branch out to classic authors and works. I plan on adding more Agatha Christie to my TBR as soon as the pile dwindles down.

As for finally reading the book a second time around, it was just as suspenseful as the first time. Granted, I already knew how it ended and what not, but re-reading to experience the puzzling mystery I was attached to in eighth grade was wonderful.

I read the book while on my trip to Orlando, Florida. My mom had asked me what the book was about and I just held it up for her to read the back cover as I continued to read the book.

Mom: So who’s the killer? [Even though I’m only a quarter of the way through the book]

Me: {Insert name here…no spoilers}

Mom: How do you know if you’re not finished with the book?

Me: Read it in 8th grade, also re-reading this foreshadowing, it is impossible to see how I ever thought differently.

Mom: Okay then…

I enjoyed this book as much as my 13-year-old self did. Some of the smaller details were hazy, but it was easy to fall back into the story – except this time instead of my living room, I was planted on a lounge chair on a fake beach, next to the pool, at the Cabana Bay Beach Resort in Orlando.

I’m going to have to read more of Christie’s other works, but it is clear why she is the Queen of Mystery. There were several twists and turns throughout the book. If I hadn’t read it before, I would have been 100% shocked as to how the murderer was able to pull off this crazy murder spree, virtually undetected. If you read E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars, the eerie-mystery, what-the-he**-just-happened response is how you will feel after reading this book.

Next up, my review of Yes, Please!

Note: please bear with me as I catch up on all of my reviews! Your patience is appreciated! Happy reading lovelies!

One thought on “And Then There Were None

Leave a Reply

