Cress

13206828Goodreads synopsis:

Even in the future. there are damsels in distress…

In the third installment of the Lunar chronicles, Cress, having risked everything to warn Cinder of Queen Levana’s evil plan, has a slight problem. She’s been imprisoned on a satellite since childhood and has only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress a great hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress involving Cinder, Captain Thorne, Scarlet, and Wolf goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes as a high price. Meanwhile, Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

Hello lovelies! It is finally time for me to finish reading The Lunar Chronicles! I read Cinder and Scarlet last March, so I decided I should finish the series now that it has come to an end. I wish I would have read the books one right after the other, because I had to go back and read my reviews and notes of Cinder and Scarlet to remember what happened.  However, just like Cinder and Scarlet, this book sucked me into it’s world and made me not want to leave.

Cinder’s story continues to weave in more characters – this time Crescent a.k.a. Cress, Winter, and Jacin – while bringing back our favorites – Thorne, Scarlet (for a little bit), IKO!! This book made me LOVE Thorne and Cress. *For those who don’t know: Disney’s Beauty and the Beast & Tangled are my all-time favorite Disney movies. Knowing that, it’s no surprise that Thorne and Cress are now my favorite characters in the story. They are so much like Rapunzel and Flynn Rider from Tangled and I love it. Jacin is OK – hoping to see more personality from him in Fairest or Winter. As for Winter, I don’t really like her so far. She made brief cameos in this book, in which she seemed whiny. I hope this changes seeing as she is the main character of Winter. 

I enjoyed this book much more than Scarlet. There were several plot twists, more action, more comedy and romance, and connections between the characters and the plot start to be revealed. However, I felt like Book 1 of Cress foreshadowed most of what was going to happen later on. There were also some places where the pacing just seemed to drag on – which is bad because I read half of it and then listened to the other half through an audiobook and it. Still. Dragged. On. In those places. I also can’t wait  for these cliffhangers to end!!

Overall, I really enjoyed Cress and it is definitely my favorite in the series so far. Next will be Fairest, so keep an eye out for that! Happy reading lovelies!

Leave a Reply

