My Most Excellent Year

1189878Goodreads synopsis:

Dear Anthony:

I appreciate your recent interest, but I’m not accepting applications at this time. Your letter will be kept in our files and someone will get back to you if there is an opening. Thank you for thinking of me.

Respectfully,
Alejandra Perez

P.S. It’s not Allie. It’s Ale.

Meet T.C., who is valiantly attempting to get Alejandra to fall in love with him; Alejandra, who is playing hard to get and is busy trying to sashay out from under the responsibilities of being a diplomat’s daughter; and T.C.’s brother Augie, who is gay and in love and everyone knows it but him.

When my best friend, Kendall, moved into her new house in November, I was there to help her organize and unpack. While unpacking one of her many middle/high school boxes, I picked up this book. My initial reaction was “Kendall you read?” She laughed and told me that she used to read all the time, but this book made her fall in love and she couldn’t find a book that could beat the awesomeness of this book. So here I am a few months later writing this review with my own copy sitting on my desk next to me, and all I have to say is I LOVED this book!

It was a great contemporary book that wasn’t just a “fluff” book for me. I was sucked in from the very first chapter and thrown into a story about realistic, lovable characters who are trying to find themselves in this crazy world. The story was presented through journal entries, letters, instant messages, e-mails, quotes, etc. The originality and multiple presentations throughout the story made it a much more realistic book and much easier to get into.

Some may think that the characters didn’t have any real flaws, but they were realistic. It was refreshing to have “normal” characters that were just trying to find themselves and love in this quirky story.

The story itself focuses heavily on family, friendship, love, and baseball. It’s hard to describe it, but this book gave me a warm fuzzy feeling that everything works out for a reason and to never doubt that it will all work out.  I also have a very strong urge to go visit Boston now, but that must wait for a few years.

Bragging about this  book does not do it justice! I simply must say that you just need to read it.

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend. Up next I’ll be reading Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle. Happy reading lovelies!

Leave a Reply

