Bridge to Terabithia

2839

Image courtesy of Goodreads.com

Goodreads Synopsis:

Jess Aarons’ greatest ambition is to be the fastest runner in his grade. He’s been practicing all summer and can’t wait to see his classmates’ faces when he beats them all. But on the first day of school, a new girl boldly crosses over to the boys’ side and outruns everyone.

That’s not a very promising beginning for a friendship, but Jess and Leslie Burke become inseparable. Together they create Terabithia, a magical kingdom in the woods where the two of them reign as king and queen, and their imaginations set the only limits.

Finally taking a break from working on my final project! I read this AWHILE ago, but I kept forgetting to write and post my review of it. So here it finally is!

For starters, I first read this book when I was in elementary school, not for a book report or anything, but instead the school program, Novel Knowledge (Yes, I have always been a nerd). Anyway, I read this book in fourth grade for Novel Knowledge. I decided to read it again for Banned Books Week because it is one of the more banned books in the U.S. According to the American Library Association, it’s ranked at #8 on the list of Top 100 Most Banned Books for 1990-2000, and #28 for 2000-2009.

I hate the idea of banning books. This one had some pretty crazy reasons – offensive language (Jess’ use of the word”lord” outside of prayer); promoting witchcraft, violence, new age religions, secular humanism, and Satanism. I get the idea of banning the book because it has the death of a main character – but come on, kids see worse things in their cartoons. Granted, the topic of death in the book being a death of a child, I do see why it was a topic of censorship. It should really be up to the digression of the parents and maturity of the child, but the idea of banning/challenging books is stupid. Just because it doesn’t fit your own beliefs, doesn’t mean everyone should be censored.

Anywho! This was the first book that ever made me cry. The second being Mick Harte Was Here by Barbara Park (also next on my reading list!) The book itself is enchanting. The characters are realistic and engaging, not to mention the strong friendship between Jesse and Leslie is immeasurable.

By now it’s 2015, so its plausible that you’ve seen the movie adaption staring Josh Hutcherson (My husband who I’ve loved since I saw him in Kicking and Screaming, I was a little kid then!) and AnnaSophia Robb. For those of you that have seen it, you know what happens. Regardless, the very short book is much better than the movie (even if it does star my husband!).

After re-reading the book – roughly twelve years later – I can say I felt the same emotions that I did when I was nine years old. I also balled like a baby. Life hurts you. Books can hurt you too. This book proves that.

Up next on my reading list is Mick Harte Was Here by Barbara Park. I last read it in fourth grade, so a re-read is much needed! Especially since I found it for free at the local thrift store! Happy reading lovelies!

Leave a Reply

