Blog Tour: The Sister Pact

23510106

Image courtesy of Goodreads.com

Happy November bookworm friends! I am excited to be participating in my first blog book tour! I am honored to have read this very gripping tale of the struggles that come along with depression and suicide.

In The Sister Pact by Stacie Ramey, we meet Allie who had recently experienced the suicide of her best friend/General/perfect sister, Leah.  It’s really hard to find the right words to describe this book and the feelings I experienced while reading it.

When I first picked up the book I was sucked in. I kept an open mind during the entirety of the book because I know it must be hard to lose your sister to suicide – especially when you two made a suicide pact to do it together if it ever got “too hard”. But I couldn’t help but feel angry at Allie. She kept saying over and over how she never wanted to ever commit suicide, but yet she developed a pill problem to “numb” the pain.

I’ve had to deal with loss in my life before, but never suicide. This book was very eye-opening to the effects of suicide on the family and friends. It shows the raw emotion, loss of self, loss of all “truth” they had ever known, and the finding of one’s self after they’ve been through Hell and back.

I know some people have felt the book was incomplete, but I feel it was complete. The ending was perfect. The various trials and tribulations of Allie over the course of the book all came to an end and were resolved. Granted, I do want to know if Allie had gotten into the prestigious art school and whether or not she ended up with Nick, but I will take an ending of acceptance and growth over suicide or the “fluffy stuff” any day.

A huge thank you to the publishers, Stacie Ramey, and NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to read and review the book in exchange for my honest opinion.

I haven’t decided on what to read next, but when I do, you all will be the first to know! Happy reading lovlies! For those of you in the U.S. – have a lovely Thanksgiving holiday!

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Sister Pact

  1. Pingback: Friday Finds #11 – One Little Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

