Dream Things True

23848212

Hello fellow bookworms! I have had so much going on between work, homework, and personal things, that I finally had a chance to post my review of Dream Things True. Sorry for being MIA. Love you all.

I received Dream Things True by Marie Marquardt as an e-ARC through NetGalley in return for my honest opinion.

I have extremely mixed feelings about this book, and not in a roller coaster of emotion way. The story is sweet and innocent, but the love story between poor, undocumented immigrant, Alma, and rich, popular boy, Evan, was too awkward. It was sweet how they became a couple in sort of a Romeo-Juliet type of way, but as soon as they become a couple the book fast forwards six months into their relationship.

The love story itself was not the greatest. Like I said, it was too awkward, but more than that, I feel like the progression of the relationship didn’t flow well and their chemistry did not mix. Alma and Evan are both great people, but they didn’t challenge each other or have quirky qualities that made them a unique couple. They were puppy love, and I was expecting an epic love story.

The book does talk a lot about the issue of undocumented immigration. I have my own views on immigration, but this book let me see a different, darker side to it. There were several times I felt very upset because of the way people were treating Alma and her family when they were working hard to get a better life. Don’t get me wrong, a story about a couple from different social classes falling in love, sounded like a great rags to riches story, but I felt as though the book kept throwing the idea of Alma being undocumented in our face. We know she’s undocumented, you don’t need to harp on it over and over, give me the love story!

I’m not going to give away any spoilers, but the ending was not what I wanted. It just kind of stopped. There was no grand finale ending, no final resolution, it just stopped right in the middle of a scene, and I was left sitting there unhappily.

This book did have some great parts, but for me the flaws I saw outweighed the beauty in it. Go check the book out for yourself, I may not have enjoyed the book, but you may! Beauty is in the eye of the beholder!

Next review is still to be determined since I just got 11 books from the library, plus I have a bunch of children’s books I need to read for my Children’s Literature class! Just keep an eye on my Instagram and Goodreads accounts to see what I’ll be reading next! Happy reading lovelies!

One thought on “Dream Things True

Leave a Reply

