P.S.I Still Love You

20698530Goodreads synopsis:

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

I was so excited to hear Jenny Han had released a sequel to the much loved, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. Unfortunately for me, it was a flop. I was being kind of generous on Goodreads when I gave it two stars. I desperately wanted to love this book since I loved the first so much, but I couldn’t.

For starters, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, left us at a cliffhanger, but P.S. I Still Love You threw us right into the story, not reminding readers of anything that happened in the first book. Not only that, Lara Jean and Peter were thrown together as a couple and then thrown into a horrendous scandal all in a mere twenty pages or so.

Lara Jean and Peter’s relationship was childish, puppy love that didn’t give me a warm, fuzzy feeling. They literally made a contract for their relationship – barf. The only couples who do that are couples in middle school, not sixteen year-olds. I felt irritated for most of the novel because Peter was constantly hanging out with his ex, Genevieve, because she “was dealing with some things” that he couldn’t tell anyone. Hello! Common knowledge is that girlfriends get special privileges to prevent arguments about ex-girlfriends who are sneaky little bitches (pardon my language).

Granted, Peter was Lara Jean’s first boyfriend, but Peter’s had girlfriends before, so why is their relationship so weird and naive? Their chemistry never seemed right when they were together. The plot wasn’t defined, just a lot of mundane every-day activities. To top it off, Jenny Han tried to throw in a “love triangle” halfway through the book between Lara Jean, Peter, and John. Um what?

In my humble opinion, there was no need for this book. Jenny Han could have added an epilogue to To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, and all would be right with the world. Instead, I read an over-exaggerated, uneventful puppy love story between two people who didn’t have chemistry.

I hate being so brutal towards a novel, but I had high expectations and they weren’t met. I love Jenny Han as an author, but it’s not what I expected.

As for my next bookish journey, I’ll be reading Kissing in America by Margo Rabb. Happy reading bookworms!

Leave a Reply

