Everything, Everything

Image courtesy of Goodreads

Image courtesy of Goodreads

I am excited and thankful to have received an ARC in return for my honest opinion of the much anticipated book, Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon.

My honest opinion is this: I loved the book.

I could use a thousand ways to describe this book and only one word comes to mind: perfect.

It was heartwarming.

It was intriguing.

It gave me butterflies.

It gave me heartbreak.

It gave me adventure.

It gave me drama.

It gave me happiness.

We were invited into Madeline’s perfect, safe world inside her bubble of a house. A house where a fancy-shmancy air filter purified the air every twenty minutes. A house where all windows were sealed, and the front door had an air-locked room before entering the house. A house where anyone coming in (a.k.a. only Madeline’s mom, nurse, and the extremely rare occasions – tutors) needed to go through an hour long decontamination process.

Madeline suffers from the disease Severe Combined Immunodeficiency or SCID. The disease makes it impossible for her to come in contact with any foreign substances from the outside world, hence the sterile living environment. Her only friends are her nurse, her mother who is also her doctor, and the few friends from the online universe. Madeline spends her days reading books, completing classes via Skype, and observing the world pass her from from the comfort of her sealed, sterilized home.

When I started reading the book, it never occurred to me that Madeline never left the house. What about doctor’s appointments since she has this extremely rare disease? Oh right, her mother is her doctor and a nurse spends all day with her. But what happens when a new family moves in next door with two teens her own age? Madeline observes them. She watches their every move, the teens even stop by to try and meet her, but get turned away by her mother.

Then something funny happens – she continues to observe, only to see a mysterious bundt cake – yes you read the right – try and commit suicide – yes, you read that right again. The bundt cake suicides sparked an interesting friendship turned first love between Madeline and Olly, the boy next door. He always wore black and she always wore white. He was dangerous for her in every way, while all she wanted to do was experience the world he got to experience every day.

The romance was cheesy and heartwarming, but Madeline yearning to be a normal “human” and experience the world that can literally kill her, made my heart ache. I felt real, genuine, human emotions while reading this book, which is something not all books or authors can make happen for their readers. The realistic, genuine characters pulled me in and made me stay until the very end.

If you would like to know what happens to Madeline and her “angel of death”, pick up a copy September 1st when it’s released! I know I will!

Until then I’ll be reading my way through my bookshelves and TBR pile. Up next is P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han. Happy reading lovelies!

One thought on “Everything, Everything

Leave a Reply

