The Moon and More + #SarahDessenMarathon Wrap Up

16101126Goodreads synopsis:

Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough.

Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo’s sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby.

Emaline’s mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby?

Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going?

My #SarahDessenMarathon is officially over! It’s been a long three moths – eek! – but I’m glad that I took this opportunity to re-read my favorites and not-so-favorites. It’s really hard to rank the books from favorite to least favorite, so I’m not going to. All I’m going to say is that if you haven’t picked up a Sarah Dessen book before, go pick one up now.

As for The Moon and More, I enjoyed it. It takes place in my favorite book beach town, Colby, so we run into our favorite people and places from Along for the Ride. There’s also a mention of Wes and Bert from The Truth About Forever being cousins of Emaline’s close friend Morrs.

The biggest cameo in this book is Clyde, the guy who owns a lot of small businesses in Colby. We get a great peek into Clyde’s life and past. Clyde is kind of the reason for the story. Without Clyde the crazy New York film maker, Ivy, and her assistant, Theo, would not have been in he book.

I would have been grateful if Theo wasn’t in the book, because honestly he kind of rubbed me the wrong way. I don’t know if it was because Theo was the type of guy that celebrated “week-iversaries” or made every event a “Best” event. He also started planning his future with Emaline, as in apartments, and they had been dating for twenty-nine days…I hate guys that are like this! It’s okay to woo, but don’t woo too much…I swooned more over the bits of Luke in the story than innocent-but-creepy Theo.

Emaline is my spirit animal. She gets stuff done and takes no one’s crap! She doesn’t let anyone see her weak, great customer service, and somehow manages to maintain relatively healthy relationships with everyone she meets. Emaline and I are literally the same person, and I think that is why I enjoy this book so much despite the lack of consistent plot.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the book, it just seemed to jump around a lot. First, it’s about Luke, then it’s about her relationship with Theo, then her problems with her mother but we rarely see them together. On top of those things, there’s Clyde’s whole storyline, as well as Ivy and her movie, her father and stepmother’s divorce, her relationship with her friends. The plot seemed to drag out some of the problems in Emaline’s life, which isn’t necessarily bad, it just seemed like a little much.

I love Dessen’s books for the characters. Every Dessen novel has quirky and unique characters, but more importantly they deal with real issues too. They’ve dealt with body issues, abusive relationships, finding one’s self, anger management, families being torn apart and being brought back together, creating a family from those who are in your life, growing up, change, etc. They’re realistic, so it is easy to fall in love and into place with these colorful friends she gives us.

Now that my #SarahDessenMarathon is over, I feel like this:

tumblr_mzwnt9q92l1r5dhsto1_500

But then I remember…

tumblr_ndxb15JRBn1twp9o6o1_500

All the new books I get to read…

tumblr_n0gnbpxGHR1trmkp7o1_500

 

And then I’m happy again…

tumblr_nh6rm2NGdu1sa2xlto1_500Well I’m onto my next reading list. First up is an ARC of The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis, and I’ll be posting a review of the Pixar movie, Inside Out tomorrow! Happy reading lovelies!

 

Leave a Reply

