The Truth About Forever

The Truth About ForeverGoodreads synopsis:

A long, hot summer…

That’s what Macy has to look forward to while her boyfriend, Jason, is away at Brain Camp. Days will be spent at a boring job in the library, evenings will be filled with vocabulary drills for the SATs, and spare time will be passed with her mother, the two of them sharing a silent grief at the traumatic loss of Macy’s father.

But sometimes, unexpected things can happen—things such as the catering job at Wish, with its fun-loving, chaotic crew. Or her sister’s project of renovating the neglected beach house, awakening long-buried memories. Things such as meeting Wes, a boy with a past, a taste for Truth-telling, and an amazing artistic talent, the kind of boy who could turn any girl’s world upside down. As Macy ventures out of her shell, she begins to question her sheltered life.

Is it really always better to be safe than sorry?

Literally, the first book that made me fall in love with Sarah Dessen novels! I had read this one, and Lock & Key, and I was sold – a.k.a. I started pre-ordering her novels from then on. I currently own every Sarah Dessen novel, and am excited to dive into my favorite ones during this last leg of the #SarahDessenMarathon.

The first time I read this book, years and years ago when it was first published, I thought I was going to be reading a lighthearted, first love/first break up story, instead it includes that as well as a deeper underlying story that focuses on family and loss of loved ones. Dessen shows her readers that there is more than one way to cope with loss – some get into art, while others erase their legacy completely.

The main character, Macy, is the perfect daughter. She is dating the smartest and most perfect boy in school. She makes friends easily, doesn’t stray from what her mother tells her to do. She’s also wickedly fast, but she gave up running after she witnessed her father death.

And then there’s Wes. Macy’s new friend Kristy got one thing right about him – SA-WOON. He is complete boyfriend material, so of course I shipped him and Macy together, but both were kind of dating other people. He is definitely one of my top favorite #BookishBoys, I can’t think of another way to describe him other than imperfectly perfect. If you’re wondering what makes him so great and if he chooses his current relationship or Macy, go pick up a copy of the book!

I would really prefer to give you all the spoilers, or quote the entire book, so here is some gifs that explain my reactions during the book:

tumblr_inline_mq6v4bHBKr1qz4rgp

tumblr_mjm862rpBc1r9885wo1_500 SAWOON

With that, I will be continuing my epic #SarahDessenMarathon with Just Listen now that my summer school midterms are over. Happy reading lovelies!

One thought on “The Truth About Forever

Leave a Reply

