Five More College Dialogues

Five More College DialoguesIan Thomas Malone Round 3. I started reading it last week, but this weekend has been crazy for me since I moved home for summer and have a million and one things to do. Not to mention my mother yelling at me due to the amount of “crap” I brought home. Anyways, here’s the Goodreads synopsis:

Five More College Dialogues follows George Tecce’s return to academia as he travels to the West Coast to pursue his Ph.D. The intriguing graduate student is teaching a class on his own for the first time. George continues to help students navigate the ins and outs of college life with enlightening analytical discussion. He mentors them in a range of diverse subjects including social dynamics, resume building, and relationships. The learning doesn’t stop in the classroom as George even makes his way to a party!

Humorous and philosophical, the Dialogues are a perfect resource for students to learn about and maximize their college experience.

The thing I like about Malone’s novels is that they are originally philosophical without being outright boring. I don’t know about others who have read the College Dialogues, but for me, my mind always reads the Chief’s dialogues in a British accent – adds a bit more excitement to the book as well. Sometimes the Chief can be a bit boring when he starts on long rants such as why the keg is sitting in an ice-less bucket, but he always seems to make a witty/sarcastic comment soon after to redeem himself.

I’ve read both College Dialogues books now, and I can say even as a senior in college, the information is still pertinent.  These books are not just for high school graduates/soon-to-be college freshmen. Anyone could use these lessons in everyday life, including yourself. Plus, the Chief is funny, sincere, and cares deeply about those he encounters, even if it for a few minutes on the doorstep of a party.

Ian Thomas Malone has created a highly realistic atmosphere that answers our burning questions about college and the world beyond. Get a copy for your high school graduate, they’ll thank you later. Malone also has another novel out soon – Courting Mrs. McCarthy  – which will be release Tuesday, June 9th, 2015. I cannot wait to read it. But for now I will continue my #SarahDessenMarathon and will be posting about That Summer by Sarah Dessen soon! Also I’ll probably review Pitch Perfect 2 since I just saw it yesterday! Happy reading lovelies!

Leave a Reply

