We Were Liars

16143347This book is a very talked about book. I didn’t really know what it was about when I decided to read it, I just knew that it was picked as the YA Goodreads choice from 2014. Anywho, here’s the Goodreads synopsis:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

I cannot think of how to express what I just read. There is no way to put it into words. There’s no way to talk about the story without giving away spoilers. I can tell you I read this book in an entire sitting – with potty and snack breaks of course. I was so entranced by the story, that I couldn’t put it down – nor did I want to. I craved to know the secrets.

The writing was beautiful. The lies would come out and I’d believe them just because they were written so well. Then after thinking about them for a second, I realized they were just a little far-fetched. Some of the little secrets I started to piece together and make predictions, but the big secret at the end was definitely not what I was expecting. It threw me for such a loop, that I may or may not have thrown the book across room, before picking it up and apologizing to it. I may or may not have cried a little bit.

Like I said before, I can literally not say anything about this incredibly suspenseful book without giving away any of the dirty little details. It was such a good book and I recommend it to anyone looking for a mystery within a mystery. You will have to block out a chunk of time to read it, because each plot twist just creates the biggest cliffhangers that make you not want to put it down.

My mind is still reeling from what I just read. It makes so much sense in the end, but I just can’t believe it. I do have to say that the book is a little bit slow to get into – but it will all make sense in the end, so please stick with it! I enjoyed this book way more than I thought I would and became so emotionally invested in the characters and their story. Please just do me a favor and read the book, kay?

Well, now onto more books! Next up is It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini. Happy reading lovelies!

Leave a Reply

