The D.U.F.F.

6931356I decided to read a “fluff” book after finishing All the Bright Places – something funny that would brighten my mood. Friends have generally said they enjoyed the book as a fluff and how it wasn’t really like the movie. I also have not seen the movie yet, so I don’t know how they compare. Here’s the Goodreads synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

Holy mother of sexcapades. There was so much sexual encounters in this book – definitely not what I was expecting. I can now see why critics called the movie this generation’s Mean Girls (Like I said before, not entirely sure how the book and movie compare, but I’m in the Mean Girls generation, so everything else is below it). My main problem with the book other than the sex, was that the book itself felt rushed. One minute she’s talking about the first boy that broke her heart – who comes to town and there is no encounter between them whatsoever – to having a fling and avoiding her friends.

Not to mention having crazy family drama, that just didn’t seem real or relatable to me. The characters weren’t anything super special either. I didn’t really like Wesley, not until the end of the book when he became Mr. Nice Guy. It just seemed as though the pace was very fast in this entire book. I felt so rushed when I was reading it. Yes, I read it in one day, because I felt like if I didn’t read it continuously, I wouldn’t be able to read it at all.

I do have to say I didn’t even know the DUFF was a thing. When I first heard of the movie coming out, I had told my roomie that we should go see it because looked funny. Apparently, being DUFFs had been a thing at her school. I had never heard of it before the movie, and then I heard there was a book, so I decided to read it before  – still haven’t seen the movie. But the term DUFF was never a thing a my school – we had “grenades”…thank you Jersey Shore. I can tell you looking back at high school, I was definitely the DUFF of my group of girl friends – nerdy, wore jeans and a t-shirt everyday (comfort over popular trends), didn’t participate in sports at the school, only involved in things with the other high achieving students while my friends were softball, soccer, and theater stars.

I don’t know if I’ll end up reading this book again – it just wasn’t for me, I notice my genre has opened up since starting this blog. But if you need a “fluffy” book in between traumatizing books, check it out. Next up I will be reading We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. Happy reading lovelies!

Leave a Reply

