Exciting news!

So for my followers, you know that I had applied to the Elementary Education program for a second time at the end of February. Well, I heard back last week and….I was denied again. According to them I was not “competitive enough”, my GPA wasn’t what they wanted, and something about prerequisite classes not being me. For one, my GPA is literally .17 away from the “should-have” GPA, I have actually finished every prerequisite and then some, and I really don’t understand how I’m not competitive enough if I have near-perfect test scores, excellent letters of recommendation, and have actual experience with children.

The only thing left to do was to go talk to one of the program advisers. I was told that basically the only thing that mattered was my GPA, and not anything else in my full application. I spent so much time perfecting that application, to only be told that it’s only my GPA…Now that is a let down. But I also learned some new information. When I first declared the pre-education major, I was told that I would receive my degree for teaching in Nevada, and then have to do a couple tests in order to teach in California. I would be done in a total of two and a half years.

Simple right?

Actually not. According to the program adviser I would have to re-apply in the fall with no guarantee of actually being admitted into the major, and at that point I would have to decide to choose a different major path since I would have absolutely nothing to take next spring. I would also have to go to graduate school in California for two years to earn a teaching credential. Hypothetically, if I did get into the program that would be almost five years until I would be completely done with school – excuse me, I am tired of paying for school, I’d much rather just start working already.

Here is my new path. On April 6th, I am officially declaring a major in General Studies – which I only need 30 more credits in a organized theme in order to graduate. I’ll be done in three semesters – I’d graduate December 2016, unfortunately not on our gorgeous quad, but oh well. I’d get out of Reno and back to California three semesters earlier than I would as an Elementary Education major! Plus with General Studies, I get to choose the theme of what classes I get to take, so as of today, March 31st, I have officially declared a second minor in…..English! But with this English minor I get to choose a specialization. Mine is Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages or TESOL, I feel like this would come in very handy for my future teaching credential. One of the classes I get to take in the fall is dedicated to writing about literature – and I am so excited!

Anyways, after graduating in December 2016, I will take Spring 2017 off, and start a two or three semester credential program (hopefully) at CSU Sacramento in the fall of 2017 – only 35 minutes from my house, a.k.a. free room and board living at home while I’m in school and not having to pay $175 worth of sorority dues either. That’s knocking $700 out of my monthly expenses. Praise the Lord! I now have a total of five semesters left instead of seven or eight. Plus, I get to pay in state tuition if I get into the Sac State program – my tuition for the entire year is what I pay out-of-pocket after financial aid at UNR in Nevada. Again, praise the Lord!

I am really excited to start my new path as a General Studies major with a dual minor in Developmental Disabilities and English (TESOL). It will help open so many more doors than just an Education major. I also get to take fun classes like children’s literature, writing about literature, and principles of modern grammar – yes, I am well aware that I am a nerd. It just makes me so happy!

IMG_20150330_203820

I also have picked my April Reading List! Out of my adorable To Be Read Jar that I made over Spring Break the following books have been chosen:

  1. Cress by Marissa Meyer (Left over from March Reading List)
  2. The D.U.F.F. by Kody Keplinger
  3. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
  4. The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider
  5. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini
  6. The Complete Divergent Series by Veronica Roth (Probably will carry on to May)
    1. Divergent
    2. Insurgent
    3. Allegiant
    4. Four
  7. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven (My winning book from an Instagram giveaway that should be here any day now and will be immediately read when I get it!)

Speaking of giveaways, look out for an important post on May 10th! I’ll be announcing all the details and rules for my first Instagram Book Giveaway and I am really excited about it! I love all of you guys and it means a lot that you follow my blog and social medias!

Thank you so much for being so wonderful and keep your eyes peeled for my giveaway post on May 10th! Happy reading and my Scarlet post will go live hopefully tomorrow, it’s been a really long day. Happy reading lovelies!

Leave a Reply

