Cinder

cinder-marissa-meyerI was really excited to start reading it this week! So here I am diving into the much talked about Lunar Chronicles!

Goodreads synopsis:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

In all honesty, I had no idea what a cyborg was when I first started reading this book – I looked it up on UrbanDictionary.com. I was really confused going into the first chapter since science fiction is something I don’t regularly pick up. But I love fairy tales, and this was a re-telling of Cinderella with an ultra-modern-futuristic twist – and I loved it. I was completely hooked by chapter 5.

Marissa Meyer took a well-known fairy tale and threw so many twists and turns into it that it became a brand new story. The only times I put it down was for work, class, and sleep. The characters are so unique. I don’t think I’ve ever hated a character as much as I’ve hated Queen Levana and Cinder’s stepmother, Adri – they take Professor Umbridge from Harry Potter to a whole new level. Of course the queen is awful because she manipulates everyone with her powers, kills those she cannot manipulate, and wants to wage a war so she can rule the world and moon. But Adri is just straight awful because she was stuck with Cinder as a stepdaughter, blames Cinder for everything, and enjoys taking away her happiness in ways I cannot spoil for you all.

One thing that threw me for a loop though, was that at the beginning Cinder was close with her younger stepsister, Peony, and that Cinder was actually the one adopted into the family rather than being orphaned by her father like the original story. I was slightly confused at first about the world set up since the story takes place in New Beijing and there is a world-wide plague. If it’s set in the future, why is there not advanced medical treatment for those the attract the plague? Also, I knew something big was going to happen when the doctor discovered Cinder’s reaction to the plague being injected in her. Was it good or bad? You’ll have to read the book for yourself if you want to find out what happened! Especially because it leads us down a twisted road of secrets and deceit, and I really don’t want to spoil it for you.

I cannot wait to crack open the next book of the series, Scarlet, which is currently sitting on my desk as I write this. Happy reading lovelies! Look out for Scarlet in a couple days!

Leave a Reply

