Will Grayson, Will Grayson

WillGrayson

Friends! I have been so swamped with work and my wonderful break! Yes, I’ve obviously been reading and having fun, but I’m without a car until tomorrow (really long dramatic story) and I have absolutely NO WiFi/internet at my house. Which totally stinks since I’ve been trying to find time to do this review! Anyways, thought I would hop on the John Green train again, seeing as this book has received very high reviews. Here’s the Goodreads synopsis:

Will Grayson meets Will Grayson. One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two strangers are about to cross paths. From that moment on, their world will collide and Iives intertwine.

It’s not that far from Evanston to Naperville, but Chicago suburbanites Will Grayson and Will Grayson might as well live on different planets. When fate delivers them both to the same surprising crossroads, the Will Graysons find their lives overlapping and hurtling in new and unexpected directions. With a push from friends new and old – including the massive, and massively fabulous, Tiny Cooper, offensive lineman and musical theater auteur extraordinaire – Will and Will begin building toward respective romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most awesome high school musical

I was utterly confused when I started reading this book. One chapter was correctly capitalized, while the other didn’t have any capitalization. I knew it was so we could tell the two Will Graysons apart, but I wanted to know which was which author. I have read John Green before, so I guessed and then checked online. I was right. John Green wrote the odd chapters while David Levithan wrote the even.

I like the writing for the most part. Some of the characters are likable, but others, I’m not sure how to feel about just because of their dark outlook on life. My favorite character by far isn’t even one of the Will Graysons, it’s Tiny Cooper! He is fabulously brilliant and I love him.

I was confused by where the story was going when I first started reading. I figured the book would get going eventually, but it seemed slow to get going. There wasn’t anything exciting that happened until chapter 8 when the Biggest plot twist ever happens for Will Grayson (the gay one). I literally shrieked when I read it and my boyfriend thought something was wrong. Yes, there is something wrong! Let me just pull this knife out of Will’s back! I’d give the details but I don’t want to ruin for you lovelies!

The novel itself was one of the funniest I’ve read in a while – yes, Harry Potter is sassy, but these characters take sassy to a whole new level. I literally laughed out loud about some of the things these characters would say, but I just wonder how the heck an author could think of that to say for their character. I do believe while the humor was funny, I was perpetually bored by some of the musical’s scenes. I skimmed the songs briefly, but they didn’t interest me at all, but that’s just me. Otherwise, the book was funny and received 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads from me. I hope to read more David Levithan books in the future since this is a first from him, but I’m all out of John Green books! Get to crackin’ John!

Up next I’m diving into the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer – first up Cinder! Happy reading bookworms!

Leave a Reply

