Also Known As

13132661I am SO sad to have finished the entire Harry Potter series! It has left a hole in my heart. I decided that since I finished the series it would be best that I read something light and happy to get my brain off of Harry Potter. Reading Also Known As by Robin Benway was an easy read – I finished it in a day!

Here is the synopsis from Goodreads:

Which is more dangerous: being an international spy… or surviving high school?

Maggie Silver has never minded her unusual life. Cracking safes for the world’s premier spy organization and traveling the world with her insanely cool parents definitely beat high school and the accompanying cliques, bad lunches, and frustratingly simple locker combinations. (If it’s three digits, why bother locking it at all?)

But when Maggie and her parents are sent to New York City for her first solo assignment, her world is transformed. Suddenly, she’s attending a private school with hundreds of “mean girl” wannabes, trying to avoid the temptation to hack the school’s elementary security system, and working to befriend the aggravatingly cute son of a potential national security threat… all while trying not to blow her cover.

Maggie is an easily lovable character who’s sarcastic remarks had me laughing out loud on several occasions. It reminded me a bit of Ally Carter’s Gallagher Girls Series, but in this book Maggie is an international spy (since birth) with a gift of safe cracking. Her first solo assignment consists of befriending (or seducing according to Maggie) the son of a media mongol, who is a threat to national security and Maggie’s family. It works of course – Maggie ends up dating Jesse Oliver, her first kiss and boyfriend. She makes a new friend in a sarcastic and wild, Roux (pronounced Roo), also her first ever real friend, because Maggie has spent her entire life going from country to country helping her spy parents right the wrongs and beat the villains. Of course she totally blows her cover in the end, but it’s a YA novel, so of course there is a happily ever after, there always is.  

I enjoyed the book as a mind refresher, but it isn’t a book I would re-read over and over. I would just like to thank my sorority Little, for letting me borrow this book. Now onto new things! You can catch me reading A Trip Down Reality Lane by Ian Thomas Malone, look for it on the blog soon! Happy reading bookworms!

Leave a Reply

