Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows + HP Series Wrap Up

download (1)Harry Potter is life. But really though – Harry Potter is the one of the important things of my childhood that I hope to share with my own children someday. For my graduation trip in Summer 2017 (cause I’m finally going to graduate after five years) we’re going to the Disney Parks in Orlando as well as THE WONDERFUL WIZARDING WORLD OF HARRY POTTER – my mom said she’d even buy me a wand 🙂 All I have to say is 2017 get here quicker! This book holds a special place in my heart. It’s the last book in the series – a series I have spent the greater part of my childhood reading. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows Part 1 was my first date with my boyfriend of now over four years (is Harry Potter good luck? Lol) I saw Part 2 with him, as well as a second time with my dad.

Anyways, Deathly Hollows is my second favorite book – just after Goblet of Fire – because it brings everything full circle. By the end we know everything we need to know – with some questions here and there. We all experience the tragedies and triumphs of our favorite Hogwarts students – if I could have fought with them I would! I would love to beat Voldemort. One thing I hate about this book is the whole part where they’re traveling and hiding in the forest, that is so boring to me, especially since we didn’t know what some of our other favorite characters were doing at Hogwarts. I feel like I could go on forever about this book, so I decided to just complete a series wrap-up instead because there’s so much I have to say!

Series Wrap Up: Sad it’s over, but happy to start reading other things since I need to read something happy or lovey-dovey. But read on for my full thoughts and feelings on the books (and movies)!

  • Altogether there is:
    • 1,090,739 words
    • 3,363 pages
    • 199 chapters
    • 17 hours and 14 minutes worth of 8 different movies
    • 7 books
    • 1 story
  • Harry Potter: It blows my mind that he was almost killed as a baby simply because a prophecy said he would be the one to defeat Voldemort. After all, it could have also been Neville – that would be an interesting twist of a story! He is a wonderful character, I just hated how they always said he was exactly like James, when he was to an extent, but James was more of a show-off. Harry didn’t want the spotlight, but it was always thrust upon him because he was the Boy Who Lived/Chosen One. I’m glad Harry was forced to live with the Dursleys instead of some wizarding family – granted I wished he was treated better by his aunt and uncle, but I see it as, he was off the radar and safe where no one could touch him. I’m glad he survived in the end because he is the type of person who will try to make things right in the world, and always go out of his way to help those who need it. I like Daniel Radcliffe for movie Harry – I wish they would have made his hair messier though.
  • Ron Weasley: The red haired boy my little sister has always had a crush on. I love Ron, but sometimes I hated him. He always wanted to be in the spotlight like Harry – he is from a big family after all – but he never understood what that meant a.k.a. the nightmares, the secrets, everyone knowing every detail about you (whether its the truth or not), the multiple times he almost died, Voldemort, etc. Ron is a great friend, but sometimes he needed to realize that Harry didn’t want the life he had, and Harry wouldn’t want to wish that upon anyone.
  • Hermione Granger: I always wished I was Hermione Granger – I was even her for Halloween one year in elementary school. She had the smarts to do anything she wanted with her life, was dedicated, but definitely needed to take a chill pill every once and a while. I never shipped Hermione with Harry, I wasn’t sure they would make a good match, but I wasn’t sure with who. Then around Goblet of Fire when the teenage hormones started kicking in, it was clear to me that Ron and Hermione were destined for each other, and I accepted that. Ron kept her grounded and showed her she didn’t need to stress about everything, while she kept him going and showed him he could do anything if he just applied himself. Also, Emma Watson is my spirit animal and my boyfriend’s celebrity crush, we loved her as Hermione. PLUS, Emma will be staring as my favorite Disney princess in the live-action film of Beauty and the Beast!
  • Lord Voldemort: Important because without him there is no story, but the dude is really self-centered and obsessed with a teenage boy. I understand you want to be the most powerful wizard of them all, but you don’t need to kill a baby, and he should have learned the first time – Harry will defeat you, so please stop trying to kill him. The first Voldemort (Quirrel’s head) was creepy, but Ralph Finnes character was what I had pictured from the books.
  • Draco Malfoy: An only-child-spoiled-brat who can easily be persuaded to be a follower – even though he likes to act like a leader. I feel like book Draco is way funnier than movie Draco – movie Draco has his moments, but in the books he’s just so sassy and his jokes are a lot better. But when it comes down to it, Draco is a scared little boy, who’s only doing what he’s told to do because he wants to protect his family. Deep down, he’s a good person. I am a fan of Tom Felton, even if he is really supposed to be in Gryffindor…
  • Ginny Weasley: I love book Ginny. I hate movie Ginny. She has such a care-free/joking personality (kinda like her brothers Fred and George), but in the movies she is shown as this quiet background character. She is probably the farthest thing from quiet. She speaks her mind and she’s not afraid to throw insults back at her older brothers. She’s pretty much a badass as well.
  • Neville Longbottom: Neville was never given the credit he deserves. First off, he was there when the trio found Fluffy, he was a genius when it came to Herbology, and for the first five books he was using his father’s wand. Do we not remember Ollivander’s famous quote? “The wand chooses the wizard” – Neville could have been a complete badass from the beginning if he had his own wand and had been given confidence! He was awesome in the Battle of Hogwarts – he destroyed one of the final horcruxes! He was extremely close to being in Harry’s position, but Voldemort chose Harry, not Neville for whatever reason.  Also, I feel extremely bad for Matthew Lewis during the first three films – he had to wear a fat suit. Excuse me what kind of cuteness were you trying to hide from us? He is extremely nice to look at, especially in the final film.
  • Luna Lovegood: Quirky and a extremely weird,  but still a lovable character that sticks by Harry in his times of need. She seemed to always lighten the mood when we needed it.
  • Severus Snape: Extremely sassy. I believe even if Lily had known how Snape felt about her, she still wouldn’t have chosen him. There are some people who were just meant to be friends and I could never picture them together. I wish he could have worked out his issues with James, because I feel he could have been a very important person in Harry’s life like Sirius and Lupin rather than someone who Harry despised. He is one of the only people we know about who was ever close with Lily.
  • James and Lily Potter: I want to know more about them! How did they end up together, what did they do once they left Hogwarts? How did they get into the Order and how did they get mixed into the Voldemort mess? What happened to James’s family? What about Lily’s parents? Why do they Potter men have a thing for red heads?
  • Sirius Black: Why must the good die? We loved you, and you were taken away from us. You were supposed to become a family with Harry once it was all over. At least you left him all you had – home (a gross one), Buckbeak (I mean Witherwings), and Kreacher (ughhhh).
  • Remus Lupin: I love Lupin. He and Sirius took a great interest and protectiveness over Harry – granted it wasn’t until Harry was thirteen, but I imagine it is very difficult to come face to face with your dead friend’s son. Plus, he married Tonks! And they had a son together – Edward Remus “Teddy” Lupin who was also a Metamorphmagus like Tonks. They had named Harry Teddy’s godfather – which he happily accepts. Teddy is the one son we never hear about in the movie, but all us Potterheads know better. I am happy Harry was able to be there for Teddy after Lupin and Tonks’ deaths in the Battle of Hogwarts, even if Teddy was raised by Tonks’s mother {according to an interview given by J.K. Rowling} .
  • Mr. and Mrs. Weasley: Parents that cared about Harry as if he were their own and always tried to show it. I love how Harry always had a home with the Weasleys even if he had to go to the Dursleys every summer. At least they are his in-laws!
  • The Weasley Boys: Didn’t really care for Percy, but then again who would? He was the type of person to throw anyone in front of the bus in order to go farther in life, but his final moments of heroism in the Deathly Hollows really turned my attitude towards his character around. I absolutely loved the twins – hated the death of Fred – and the parts with Bill and Charlie, they seemed just like the rest of the Weasleys – carefree, willing to give you the shirt off your back if you needed it, and could make/take a joke.
  • Professor Dumbledore: I have a love-hate relationship with him. What were your intentions with Harry and the horcruxes? I felt like you wanted him to just die, but protect everyone from Voldemort since he was the only one who was able to stop him. Also, you planned your death with Snape? Of all people you could choose, you chose Snape? Also book Dumbledore is way calmer, and way more sassy than movie Dumbledore. Movie Dumbledore is wayyyy too serious.
  • Rubeus Hagrid: Our favorite gentle half-giant. I am happy Hagrid did not die, Harry did not need someone else, who cared about him so much to die at the hands of Voldemort as well. Hagrid has always been there for Harry and he always will.
  • Professor McGonagall: My favorite teacher. She is smart, witty, sarcastic, and does not put up with anyone’s poop! She has her students’ best interest at heart and she would never intentionally harm or put someone in danger. McGonagall is the real Hogwarts MVP! She was unbelievable in the Deathly Hollows. Also, for the movies, she was cast perfectly, I could not imagine anyone else playing McGonagall – well maybe Emma Watson in a remake in like fifty years…
  • Dobby the House Elf: How dare you kill Dobby??? He was loyal and stole all of our hearts. But you ripped our hearts out when you killed him off! I will always be heartbroken.
  • Narcissa and Lucius Malfoy: Raised a spoiled brat for a son. Lucius belongs in Azkaban, even if he was only doing it to protect his family. I am grateful for Narcissa, she protected Harry by saying he was dead during the Battle of Hogwarts. There’s something about a mother’s love, that continuously protected Harry throughout his childhood, and I believe that is something we can learn from.
  • Fleur Delacour: I never took French in school – Spanish and Italian for me! – so this name was almost impossible for me to say until the movie came out. And she of all people married into the Weasley family! Who would have ever called that after we were first introduced to her? Also, I don’t know how I felt about the casting of her in the movie, she was a pretty girl, but she was part Veela, so I expected her to have a sort of radiance, that just wasn’t shown in the movies.
  • The Dursleys: Vernon is just awful! But I feel Petunia doesn’t give much affection towards Harry because of he reminds her of her sister, but also because of Vernon. I wish we could have seen the days of Harry’s early childhood. But in the end, we all see how Dudley really felt about Harry, when he tells him he never thought Harry was a waste of space – all the feels! I really wish they would have put that part in the movie because it shows that maybe Petunia and Dudley were the way they were because of Vernon. Vernon never seemed to care about Petunia’s side of the family and could care less about what happened to Harry. It just always seemed like a front to me.
  • Cho Chang: a.k.a. the girl not worth Harry Potter’s time. Did not like book or movie version of her :/
  • Cedric Diggory and Viktor Krum: I like the choice of Robert Pattison for Cedric but Stanislav Ianevski was not blocky/chiselsed enough in the face for me. Cedric did not deserve to die that way either.
  • Peeves: If you don’t know who I’m taking about, you obviously have never read the books and have been deprived of knowing such an annoying/funny character. I wish they would have included him in the movies, but there were more important things to put in the movies.
  • Dolores Umbridge: a.k.a. Satan’s mistress. Rowling was doing her job when she wrote her character – she is an awful human being. Thankfully, Umbridge did not stay at Hogwarts longer than a year (Thank you Voldemort!), cause I’d hate to have to deal with her longer than one year. Not to mention, she was the one who sent the dementors to attack Harry in Order of the Phoenix, so she can literally go spend eternity in Azkaban. Also, any movie Imelda Staunton is in, I hate her character, simply because I can only picture her as Umbridge.
  • The Movies: Well I’ve already mentioned about certain castings, but the movies were perfect – other than leaving out things here or there. If they had put every little detail in, the movies would be like eight hours long – not that I would mind, but the whole ABCFamily Harry Potter Weekends would be more like week longs…Also for Christmas in 2012, my boyfriend bought me all eight movies on DVD, he understands my Harry Potter lifestyle.
  • Hogwarts Letters: For those of you who never received your letter and were born between 1985 and 1998, Voldemort wiped out all records of muggleborns a.k.a. reasons why I never received my Hogwarts letter! But my little sister was so thoughtful and got me my own Hogwarts letter for Christmas (please ignore the awful way I look in the picture/poor quality of picture) :
  • Books in order of favorites based on my re-reading them:
    1. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
    2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows
    3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban/Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (A Tie)
    4. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
    5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
    6. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  • I took the Pottermore quiz and I was sorted into (drum roll please)………………….Slytherin! I was surprised at first, but oh well, the sorting hat knows best.
  • Will I always love Harry Potter?
    • ALWAYS
  • If you’re interested in checking out my entire Pinterest board dedicated to Harry Potter, click the link below!

I have loved re-reading this series from the beginning! I also have some light wizarding reading to attend to at some point, but I think I’m going to step out of the wizarding world for a bit. I would just like to thank J.K. Rowling for giving me the best part of my childhood. I hope you have enjoyed my Harry Potter journey over the last two months! I know I have! Stay tuned for my next post about Also Known As by Robin Benway! Happy reading bookworms!

Leave a Reply

