Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Harry_Potter_and_the_Chamber_of_Secrets_(US_cover) Like I said in my post about Sorcerer’s Stone, I originally read the first two books after their movies came out. I also recently had a two day Harry Potter movie marathon with my mom and little sister, and after thinking through the movie as I read the book, I can see where they took things out or changed them.

Since the first time I read this book, it was always my least favorite of the series. I love everything about these books, but for some reason this book, just didn’t interest me – which is probably why this is the first time I’ve re-read it since I was eight years old. To tell you the truth, re-reading the series has given me a greater appreciation for them – and I’m only on book two! Not to mention, I think the only reason I don’t like the book as much as the others is because nothing super exciting happens throughout the book – just creepy instances of petrified students. Plus, I really hate snakes and spiders… But I was also into learning all I can about the wizarding world and the Harry-Voldemort connection. I like connecting the dots and while I’ve been reading, I can see the foreshadowing of the horcruxes and how all these things connect to one another.

If you are a fan of just the movies, read the books – it’ll answer all your questions, and you’ll learn so much more than just watching the movies.  Now if you’ll excuse me I’m off to read my next book – Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

