Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Harry_Potter_and_the_Sorcerer's_StoneThe first time I read this book, I was eight – turning nine – years old. I had received a box set of books 1-4 as an early birthday present. The day I received them I went to an Oakland Raiders pre-season game with my dad. We took the bart into Oakland so we didn’t have to pay for parking. After the game, we ended up getting off a stop too early – not that we realized it – and thought our car had been stolen. I remember freaking out because my brand new box set of Harry Potter books were in the back seat – and I hadn’t even started reading them yet. Once we finally discovered that we were in the wrong place and got to our car, I was happy to be reunited with my brand new books.

The thing with this book was that it was released in 1997 – I was 3 years old! So the first thing I saw was when it was made into a movie – why my parents took a six year old to see this movie is beyond me (it was kind of a scary movie for that age group). But I didn’t care, I was now indulged into the wonderful world of Harry Potter. Of course I wasn’t quite at the reading level to start reading them, so I started reading them two years later. I loved them.


This is the first time I’ll be completely re-reading the entire series. I read every book as they came out (5-7 that is), and then re-read each one before their movie came out – which I couldn’t do with Sorcerer’s Stone or Chamber of Secrets because they were already out, so this is the first I’ve re-read Sorcerer’s Stone since I was eight. I just have to say, you forget the small things when you haven’t read the book in twelve years – like in the first chapter when Uncle Vernon encounters strange people the day Voldemort “dies” or when our favorite trio discovers Fluffy – the three-headed dog – spolier alert: Neville Longbottom was actually with them. Other occurrences include Peeves the Poltergeist and Ron, Neville, Malfoy, Crabbe, and Goyle start a wrestling match in the stands during the quidditch game and neither Hermione nor Hagrid notice or break it up.

I have enjoyed re-reading this book and cannot wait to see what I don’t remember from the other six books. In case you never jumped on the Harry Potter bandwagon, I suggest you should! That way you can continue to indulge in the wonderful wizarding world of Harry Potter – and all the communities and fandoms that come with it! Check out my next post about Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

