Five College Dialogues

download (1)Budding author Ian Thomas Malone came to me and asked me to take a look at his book, and I’m glad I finally had the chance to look at it – it made me think about my freshman experience. It is probably the #1 book that needs to be read by all incoming freshmen, not any of that Total Frat Move crap – yes being a sorority girl I do enjoy Total Frat Move and Total Sorority Move, but it’s not realistic like this book is. If you are planning on attending a four year university in the fall, please for the love of all things holy read this book. I seriously plan on having my sister read it before she ventures out into the world of college this fall.

The book is written entirely in dialogue – which for me I liked because I write stories with a lot of dialogue and interaction between characters, rather than more description and less dialogue. The main character, George, is sarcastic  and funny, but he’s thoughtful and sincere in every thing he tells his students and is 100% realistic with them. He doesn’t hold back – not even when he’s called into the Dean’s office. Looking back on my college experience so far, I can only say maybe two of my professors were like him – both journalism professors (go figure since I’m not longer a journalism major). I wish every student could encounter someone like George, but most of the time they can’t, so instead I recommend they check out this book, even if they’re not venturing out into the wonderful world of college – it could bring back wonderful (or not so wonderful) memories.

Needless to say I am excited for the next book to come out this year – A Trip Down Reality Lane. Like I said, I highly recommend to anyone seeking advice for college and starting life away from parents.

My next few book reviews will be diving into the Harry Potter series.  I haven’t fully re-read the entire series since I started reading it when I was in elementary school – only re-reading certain books before their movies came out. I really wanted to re-read the entire series all the way through last, year, but I didn’t have time because of school, so here it is in 2015! My next review will be of  Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling! Don’t forget to check me out on Goodreads, Instagram (@brunettewithabook), and Twitter (@brunette_book)! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

