Looking for Alaska

Book Award covers.The second to last John Green novel of my John Green hype – also one of the first novels he wrote. I’m not sure what to say about this book. It was beautifully written, the characters were friends I wish I had, and they caused crazy antics I wished I had participated in. But Green has this amazing capability to suck you in and break your heart. I didn’t know what to expect when I started reading either – this was one novel I didn’t read the back of to see what it was about. I simply picked it up and started reading.

The countdown for each section made me wonder what was going to happen. After the first quarter of the book I figured Alaska was a ticking time bomb of sorts – terminal disease no one knows about, suicidal, etc, etc. She never mentioned her home life, never wanted to go home, and all around didn’t care for authority. I think Alaska had a much deeper secret that we’ll never know about, something [SPOILER ALERT] that she took to her grave. I wish I could have seen into the mind of Alaska Young, because she is what a lot teens are now a days – ticking time bombs. We bottle everything up and never spit any of it out. I know sometimes I just need to talk, but don’t want to because I would be sent to the loony bin or be medicated (which happened my freshman year of college – antidepressants for anxiety).

I’m not sure what else to say about this book because I have more questions than answers. I look forward to it hitting the big screen sometime in 2016, but until then I’ll just read books and probably re-read this one before I see it in theaters. If you guys have some input, drop it in the comments, because I’d love to know what you thought of the book. Check out my next review of Five College Dialogues by Ian Thomas Malone. Happy reading!

P.S. Don’t forget I’m on Goodreads, Instagram (@brunettewithabook), and Twitter (@brunette_book)!

Leave a Reply

