The Fault in Our Stars

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

Not the first book in my Books That Became Movies category, but it is the first banned book I’m reviewing. I love reading, and I am extremely happy my mother was not crazy and did not forbid me from reading certain types of books when I was younger. The Fault in Our Stars  was banned in Riverside Unified School District this past September – not sure the state, but it was banned due to “the morbid plot, crude language, and sexual content” according to Vanity Fair. The only thing I have heard about it was that it was a cinematic blockbuster. I of course watched the movie having no intention of reading the book. But I am starting to branch out of my comfort zone with books, and this was one of the most talked about books recently, so of course I had to read it. If you’ve seen the movie, you know exactly what it is about and how it ends.

For those who haven’t seen the movie, the story follows Hazel, a sixteen year old cancer patient forced by her parents to attend a youth support group for cancer patients. I could tell from the beginning her sassiness would be a highlight in the book. After attending the support group, she meets Augustus Waters, the boy who turns her life upside down. It reminded me of when I was reading My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, how Kate found love and friendship with fellow cancer patient Taylor. I love how Augustus focuses on learning more about Hazel rather than her cancer. She’s a person first before her cancer and as I read the book I can’t help but fall in love with Augustus’s flirtatious charm. He is the type of guy every guy should be.

The movie follows the book pretty closely. But this isn’t a review of the movie, but the book. I wish I hadn’t seen the movie, but have just read the book instead. I know I would have been heavily surprised or had been anticipating a much different ending. Nonetheless,, Green wrote a beautiful story about two people who fall in love. I hope that one day I can have a love like Hazel and Augustus. After reading TFIOS and things online about Green,  it is clear is unconventional in the way of writing his novels. He would much rather send his readers into a panic than give them what they want – happily ever after. I look forward to reading his other work’s while I’m home on winter break. Happy reading and look for my next review of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han.

Leave a Reply

