Shades of Earth

Shades-Of-Earth-across-the-universe-trilogy-30493870-260-393REVIEW

Seven days and 1,153 pages later I am finally finished with the last book in the Across the Universe Trilogy by Beth Revis. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I first opened this book, but I knew after reading the first chapter, they were at least going to make it past the shuttle landing on the new planet, Centauri-Earth; how far and what they would encounter is a completely different story. It still follows Amy and Elder, but new characters, Amy’s parents – Colonel Robert Martin and Dr. Maria Martin – are introduced, as well as others.

This book was different to say the least. There were moments where I hated Revis because there were no description of the “aliens” but they were continuously mentioned throughout the entire book. BUT the way everything was written, it all makes sense in the end. I could not put this book – as well as the other two – down. I’m sad I finished them but also happy that I chose to step outside my perfect little comfort zone of fantasy/romance/drama fiction that I usually read (although it did have a little romance between Elder and Amy) and embrace this science-fiction trilogy. My only question is why the hell is it not a movie series already?!? Forget Hunger Games, this is a trilogy worth sharing, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good book to read. It will send you on a roller-coaster of emotions and you will not be able to put it down. Someone call Hollywood and get the movie in the works please! (But only if it does the books justice, think Harry Potter NOT Twilight, sorry Steph).

I would post spoilers, but you really just need to read the books if you want to find out what happens to Amy, Elder, the frozens, and the rest of the shipborns. Happy reading and look out for my next review on The Fault in Our Stars by John Green!

Leave a Reply

